Who are Everton’s most prolific penalty takers of all time?

Using stats from Everton Results, we’ve got the results and it’s no surprise that a modern club legend sits on top…

Wigan Athletic v Everton - Premier League
(Stu Forster/Getty Images)

1. Leighton Baines – 25

Baines only missed three penalties in his Everton career, and has a success rate of over 89 per cent.

His left foot was capable of placing or smashing home from the spot and there was a time when he was a fantasy football manager’s dream as a goalscoring defender.

2. David Unsworth & Trevor Steven – 23

Unsworth, like Baines, was another who could be trusted to hit the net from 12 yards.

He had a no-nonsense approach and of course remains involved at the club as Academy Director.

No player has taken more penalties in an Everton shirt than Steven’s 29.

1985 FA Cup Final Everton v  Manchester United
(Bob Martin/Allsport/Getty Images)

3. Roy Vernon and Graeme Sharp – 18

Vernon only ever missed one penalty, giving him the best success rate in the top 15 with 94.7 per cent.

Legendary goalscorer Sharp was also reliable from 12 yards en route to scoring 159 Everton goals, a total only Dixie Dean can better.

4. Joe Royle – 14

Royle is another legendary Toffees goalgetter and scored 14 of the 19 he took in a blue shirt.

5. Mikel Arteta, TE Jones & Alan Ball – 13

Arteta’s success rate was the best among the trio for whom 13 is not such an unlucky number.

He missed just three, during his time at Goodison during David Moyes’ reign with Jones missing six and Ball seven.