Everton will go another season without a major trophy.

Their EFL and FA Cup campaigns were both ended by 2-0 home defeats to Manchester clubs; United in December and City in March.

The trophy drought dates back to 1995.

But Carlo Ancelotti is as well-placed as any Everton manager since to end that hoodoo.

Here is a look at Everton’s trophy cabinet to date:

First Division Champions 9 times: 1890–91, 1914–15, 1927–28, 1931–32, 1938–39, 1962–63, 1969–70, 1984–85, 1986–87

More than 30 years have passed since Everton’s last first division win, during Howard Kendall’s final season before departing for Athletic Bilbao.

Only three clubs – Manchester United, Liverpool and Arsenal – have won more English top flight titles than Everton.

Second Division Champions: 1930/31

1995 FA Cup Final Everton v Manchester United
(Allsport/Getty Images/Hulton Archive)

FA Cup winners 5 times: 1905–06, 1932–33, 1965–66, 1983–84, 1994–95

Everton’s last trophy was the 1995 FA Cup, when Paul Rideout’s goal saw off Manchester United.

The closest Everton have come since is the 2009 FA Cup final defeat to Chelsea.

It is Everton and United who have lost the most FA Cup finals too – tied on eight apiece.

Charity Shield winners 9 times: 1928, 1932, 1963, 1970, 1984, 1985, 1986 (shared), 1987, 1995

Everton had to share the 1986 Charity Shield with Liverpool after a 1-1 draw, in the days before penalty shootouts.

European Cup Winners’ Cup winners: 1984/85

Everton’s run included a famous 3-1 semi-final second leg victory over Bayern Munich.

They went on to beat Rapid Vienna by the same scoreline in the final in Rotterdam.

Nigel Martyn speaking to Everton News: Archive

  1. Nigel Martyn says Everton should aim for top six

    Read here

  2. Nigel Martyn comments on how Jordan Pickford can get back to his best

    Read here

  3. Nigel Martyn discusses Ancelotti dropping Pickford for one match

    Read here

  4. Nigel Martyn talks about how empty stadiums are affecting Everton

    Read here